Uninsured drivers in one of the factors you should concern about when it comes to the car accidents. Car accidents can be financially and emotionally draining. If a passenger or driver is hurt or injured in a car accident, he or she will certainly face significant medical expenditures and missed pay if unable to work. While many people assume that the at-fault driver will be held responsible for the case’s financial burden, this is usually the duty of the driver’s insurance company.
However, a surprising proportion of Texas drivers do not have insurance – “uninsured drivers”. Therefore, we should discuss the rights to compensation in uninsured accidents for the victims.
What is an Uninsured Motorist?
According to Allstate, an uninsured motorist is a driver without auto insurance coverage. As many as 1 in 8 drivers are uninsured, according to a 2017 study conducted by the Insurance Research Council.
One more term you should know is “underinsured motorist”. An underinsured motorist is someone who has car insurance, but their liability coverage limits aren’t high enough to cover an injury as a result of an accident they cause. The specific definition of an underinsured driver varies by state.
Following an Uninsured Driver Accident
An adult car occupant’s first action after an accident should be to check any injuries and notify the authorities. The driver should first ensure that their vehicle is out of harm’s way before exchanging names, addresses, vehicle information, and phone numbers with the other driver. The drivers should also provide their insurance details. Drivers should have their insurance information handy and notify their insurance company as soon as possible following a collision (but NEVER provide a recorded statement).
Drivers in Texas are required to have basic liability insurance; nonetheless, 14.1 percent of drivers in the state are uninsured. Failure to insure a car can result in a $1,000 fine, suspension of driving privileges, and vehicle impoundment. In addition, if an uninsured driver causes an accident that results in serious injuries or death, they might face a year in prison and a fine of up to $4,000.
Learn more: What To Do Immediately After A Texas Car Accident
Options for Recovering Damages Following an Accident
In the event of a car accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, injured victims may believe they have no recourse for compensation. Even if the culpable party has insurance, it may not be enough to cover expenses associated to catastrophic injuries in many cases.
However, because Texas requires auto insurance providers to offer this coverage, an injury victim may be able to file a claim under their own uninsured or underinsured motorist policy. An injured victim may be able to obtain compensation for medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering in addition to what is obtainable through a personal injury claim against the at-fault motorist by filing a claim.
Contact a Proven Car Accident Lawyer in East Texas Today!
A personal injury specialist should be retained by an injured crash victim to determine if the at-fault parties have adequate insurance. If there is insufficient at-fault insurance, an experienced personal injury lawyer can begin the process of filing an uninsured or underinsured motorist claim.
However, many insurance companies do not treat these claims fairly. Therefore, our skilled personal injury lawyer at McKay Law can help a victim overcome these obstacles and obtain full and fair compensation.
If you have been injured in a truck or car accident, you need expert legal advice and a firm with experience to protect your rights and preserve evidence in your case. McKay Law recently won $6mm for a client in a trucking accident by proving wrongful death. If you want the best and a proven and experienced winner in the courtroom. Choose McKay Law.
Our East Texas car accident lawyers can assist you in filing an uninsured driver claim and obtaining appropriate compensation for a variety of car accidents, including rollovers, drunk driving accidents, T-bone collisions, and head-on collisions.
To schedule a free consultation, Call (903) 999-2653 or submit your case for a free case review.